History

Ballhaus Berlin

The Ballhaus Berlin was born in “Feuerland” (the burning land), as locals called the Chausseestraße in the “Gründerzeit”. It was then a stretch of factories characterised by blazing smokestacks, electric sparks and the thundering of hammers, of shady poorhouses, cemeteries and lowly housing estates. Later on, Prussian barracks and Berlin’s typical “Mietskasernen” (tenements/rental barracks) took over. And, of course, the Ballhaus Berlin, which got its start in 1905 as an inn with a coffee garden called “Zum Alten Baden”, belonging to the “Chausseepalast” at Chausseestraße 102. Renamed “Schwankes Festsäle”, it survived the chaotic times of war and revolution and entered Berlin’s heyday of amusement temples and “Pläsierkasernen” (amusement barracks) in the late 1920s, a time now featured in popular TV formats such as “Babylon Berlin”. The Chausseestraße had, by then, transformed from a poorhouse into the city’s northern centre - a lively business district during the day and an entertainment mile for all and everyone later on. Until the war ended the fun.

The ballroom survived and reopened in 1949 as “Behrens Casino”, which held an almost daily event called “Der gemütliche Altdeutsche Ball” until it became property of the people’s state in 1975. Restored and renamed “Ballhaus Berlin”, it then experienced golden days managed by the Gottschlichs. Couples were dancing under a disco ball, people flirted via tablephones, people enjoyed dances with ladies’ choice, sparkling wine and whiskey cola, resulting in an annual turnover of 1 million “Ostmark” (East German Marks). But alas, revenues started to dwindle after the reunification. The current Ballhaus team, enchanted by the charm of the place, took over in 2014. The idea of preserving a century-old tradition by taking it on a journey into the future came almost instantly. And indeed, a visitor from the past would certainly recognise the carefully restored rooms - the balcony and the spiral staircase, the lights and the tablephones, the bar and the disco ball - as these are reminders of Ballhaus history. Sometimes, joyful echos of the past flutter around the establishment, sporting “Zwicker” (Pince-Nez), Charleston outfits, ”Kreissägen” (boaters) or “Wasserwellen” (perms, similar to finger waves). We do our best to make them feel right at home.

Beerhouse Alt Berlin

The Bierstube Alt Berlin is now two kilometres away from its original site in the Münzstraße 23 where, during the Weimar days, street prostitutes offered their services, earning the establishment the nickname “Zu den 3 Ritzen” (”Bar of the 3 Slits”, you can guess the intended meaning) and attracting a colourful clientele of often shady night owls. The Alt Berlin, originally opened in 1893, survived the bombing nights of World War II and the subsequent pillaging. During the GDR, the married couple Heinz and Inge ran the bar from 1960 onwards. It quickly became one of the hotspots of East Berlin‘s nightlife. Here, Berthold Brecht, the stars and starlets of the Friedrichstadtpalast, and many self-declared celebrities gathered to drink the nights away.The reputation of the place survived the fall of the Wall, and members of the Berlin scene, tourists, artists and Berliners-by-choice like David Bowie and Quentin Tarantino flocked here to have a (or, more often, many) “sip at Heinz and Inge‘s” and to discover their love for pickled eggs and “Bouletten” (meat patties). After Heinz’s death in 2010, Inge transferred the bar to Thilo Link, hailing from Baden. Although the bar continued to boom, 2014 marked its demise - at least at the premises at Münzstraße 23. Some investor had other plans for the centrally located spot. Old regulars rescued chairs, tables, wall panels and other fixings from the wrecking ball, and in 2016, the Ballhaus team installed the furniture and the panels, together with the old charm and the good spirit of the original place, in the Chausseestraße 102, where two inconspicuous former storerooms became the new Alt Berlin. After the reopening on May 27, 2016, the establishment regained its fame.

The Alt Berlin is, again, a popular place, receiving thirsty regulars, lovers of the 20ies and curious visitors from all over the world. Even William “Captain Kirk” Shattner had himself beamed in from Montreal

Hostel Ballhaus Berlin

Founded in 1997, the Hostel Ballhaus Berlin is not only one of the oldest hostels in Germany but also one of the most beautiful. The building, now welcoming guests from all around the world, was the home of a flourishing company withover 100 employees from 1912 onwards. Here, Berlin-born Georg Albert Fuch s(1883-1951) headed the Schmidt & Fuchs GmbH, which manufactured dental equipment and instruments as well as hydraulic furniture for international clients. Fuchs became a wealthy and respected man, but the wartime economy and the bombings that eradicated the front building, the former home of the Fuchs family, brought the business to a standstill in the 1940s.

After Georg Fuchs’ death, his wife Edith continued the business as a shop for dental products. However, the Berlin Wall and the economic conditions in the GDR finally led to the closure of the company. From 1951 to 2009, the second floor housed a parish left homeless by the war along with a meeting place for Russian-Germans. Even today, the facade with its green and white glazed bricks, the wide staircases and the long corridors remind visitors of the turbulent past of the building. The modern interior design and works by contemporary artists create a reference to the present. Artworks by Jim Avignon, Ella Guru, Kai Stuth, Steffen Seeger, Ellen von Unwerth and El Bocho await you.

Coffee parlour old berlin

Although the Kaffeestube Alt Berlin only opened on May 27, 2018, the local tradition of serving coffee dates back to the Wilhelminian era. Around 1900, the “Café und Conditorei Eugen Mraschny” opened next to an archway in the Chausseestraße 102. Located in the basement of the Hotel Albeck and right next to a “Konzert-und Speisehaus” (a concert house with restaurant), business must have boomed right up to the war. After all, visiting a coffee house has been a classic “prelude to a pleasant evening” ever since the twenties. It wasn’t until a bomb hit the front building that Eugen Mraschny moved his establishment to the Chausseestraße 32. There, various leaseholders kept the café alive.

Several old photographs still show the original “Conditorei Mraschny” - any resemblance to the Kaffeestube Alt Berlin is purely coincidental…

Ballhaus beer garden

The location has long hosted beer gardens, the first one being the “Konzert-undSpeisehaus” once located in the front building of Chausseestraße 102. But the area wasn’t always as quiet and idyllic as one might imagine sitting in the courtyard and beer garden of the Ballhaus on a mild summer day. On the contrary. In the 1920s, the delivery vans of the Schmidt & Fuchs factory frequented the courtyard, loaded with hydraulic chairs, dentist’s lamps and operating tables, passing employees hard at work where today tables, terrace furniture and fragments of the Berlin Wall invite guests to relax. Until 1918, the footfalls of soldiers coming from the neighbouring Maikäferkaserne often disturbed the peace and quiet. And as soon as the daylight receded, early nightowls headed towards “Schwankes Festsäle” in the rear building, which they would often not leave until dawn, emerging into the first light, cajoling and laughing. Add to all this the infamous twilight of the Berlin backyards, and you get the picture - the four-storey front building separated the now open courtyard from the life and the light of the street.

In the last days of the Second World War, allied bombs reduced the front house, home to various establishments and the apartment of factory owner Fuchs, to rubble. Today, the beer garden of the Ballhaus is the last remaining free area in the stretch of buildings that make up the Chausseestraße.

Historie

Ballhaus Berlin

Das Ballhaus Berlin entstand in Feuerland. So nämlich nannte der Volksmund einst die Chausseestraße, in der sich die Fabriken der Gründerzeit mit rauchenden Schlöten, Funkenschlag und Gehämmer aneinanderreihten, inmitten einer Halbwelt aus Armenhäusern, Friedhöfen und kärglichen Arbeiterwohnsiedlungen. Später lösten sie preußische Kasernen und Berliner Mietskasernen ab. Und mit ihnen kam das Ballhaus Berlin, das zunächst als Gasthaus und Kaffeegarten „Zum Alten Baden“ 1905 in der Chausseestraße 102, dem damaligen „Chausseepalast“, eröffnete. Als Schwankes Festsäle überstand es dann die Kriegs- und Revolutionswirren und erlebte die große Zeit der Amüsiertempel und „Pläsierkasernen“, die in den späten 20ern in Berlin begann und heute in TV-Formaten wie Babylon Berlin Legende ist. Die Chausseestraße hatte sich inzwischen vom Armenviertel zur City des Nordens verwandelt – tagsüber quirlige Geschäftsgegend und am Abend Vergnügungsmeile für jedermann. Bis der Krieg dem Feiern ein Ende machte.

Das Ballhaus überlebte trotzdem. 1949 eröffnete es neu, als Behrens Casino. Auf dem Programm nun „der gemütliche Altdeutsche Ball“, täglich außer Montag und Dienstag, bis das Haus 1975 Volkseigentum wurde. Restauriert und als „Ballhaus Berlin“ neu getauft erlebte es unter der Leitung des Ehepaars Gottschlich goldene Zeiten: mit Paartanz unter der Discokugel, Telefonflirt und Damenwahl, Schaumwein und Whiskey Cola, bei 1 Million Ostmark Umsatz jährlich, bis es nach der Wende langsam immer weniger wurde. 2014 erfolgte schließlich die Übergabe an das heutige Ballhaus-Team, das dem Charme des Hauses nach dem ersten Besuch sofort verfallen war. Die Idee, die über hundertjährige Tradition zu bewahren und auf einer Reise in die Zukunft mitzunehmen, war ebenso schnell geboren. Und tatsächlich würde ein Besucher von einst die behutsam restaurierte Architektur sofort wieder erkennen, mit Balkon und Wendeltreppe, Leuchten und Tischtelefonen, Bar und Discokugel aus über hundert Jahren Ballhausgeschichte. Auch die alten Geister, ob mit Zwicker oder Charlestonkleid, Kreissäge oder Wasserwelle, schweben hin und wieder durch den Raum. Wir sorgen dafür, dass sie hier bleiben.

Bierstube Alt Berlin

Die Bierstube Alt Berlin war nicht immer hier, sie stand eigentlich ganz woanders. Zwei Kilometer entfernt, in der Münzstraße Nr. 23, am Straßenstrich, der dem Etablissement seit den 20er Jahren den Spitznamen „Zu den 3 Ritzen“ und ein buntes Publikum aus oft zwielichtigen Nachtschwärmern bescherte. Hier überlebte die 1893 eröffnete Bierstube Alt Berlin – von einer Plünderung abgesehen – die Bombennächte des Weltkriegs und kam später unter DDR-Verwaltung. Ab 1960 wurde sie unter Leitung der Eheleute Heinz und Inge zu einer der Szene-Adressen im Ost-Berliner Nachtleben. An ihrem Tresen strandeten Berthold Brecht, Stars und Sternchen des Friedrichstadtpalasts und viele mehr, die etwas auf sich hielten.Der gute Ruf der Bierstube überlebte auch die Wende. Nun waren es Szeneberliner, Touristen oder Künstler und Wahlberliner wie David Bowie oder Quentin Tarantino, die einen, meist nicht ganz so, „schnellen Schluck bei Heinz und Inge“ nahmen und ihre Liebe zu Sol-Ei und Boulette entdeckten. Nach Heinz Tod gab Inge 2010 den Staffelstab an den Badenser Thilo Link ab. Doch obwohl die Bierstube weiter boomte war 2014 Schluss – zumindest im Haus Münzstraße 23, für das ein Investor nun andere Pläne hatte. Alte Stammgäste retteten Stühle, Tische, Wandpaneele und Rückbuffet vor der Abrissbirne. Das Ballhaus-Team brachte sie 2016 Hand in Hand mit dem alten Charme und dem guten Geist des Hauses in die Chausseestraße 102, wo sich nun zwei einst unscheinbare Lagerräume zum neuen Alt Berlin verwandelten. Nach der Wiedereröffnung am 27. Mai 2016 stellte sich dann auch das Publikum wieder ein.

Die Bierstube Alt Berlin ist also wieder in der Gegenwart angekommen, mit immer durstigen Stammgästen, 20er-Jahre-Liebhabern und neugierigen Besuchern aus aller Welt. Selbst William „Captain Kirk“ Shattner ließ sich schon aus Montreal hierher beamen.

Hostel Ballhaus Berlin

Eröffnet 1997 ist das Hostel Ballhaus Berlin nicht nur eins der ältesten Deutschlands sondern dank seiner Gründerzeitgeschichte auch eins der schönsten. Dort, wo es heute Touristen aus aller Welt empfängt, führte seit 1912 der Berliner Georg Albert Fuchs (1883-1951) ein florierendes Unternehmen mit über 100 Angestellten. Die Schmidt & Fuchs GmbH fertigte „zahnärztliche Geräte und Instrumente“ und hydraulische Möbel und verkaufte sie quer über den Globus. Sie machte ihren Eigentümer zu einem wohlhabenden und angesehenen Mann. Kriegswirtschaft und Bombenhagel brachten die Geschäfte in den 40er Jahren zum Erliegen. Das Vorderhaus mit den Wohnräumen der Familie Fuchs wurde ganz zerstört. 

Nach Georg Fuchs Tod führte seine Frau Edith das Unternehmen als Ladengeschäft für Zahnarztbedarf weiter. Doch zwangen sie der Mauerbau und die Wirtschaftsbedingungen der DDR schließlich zur Firmenaufgabe. Im 2. Stock der Fabrik fand 1951 bis 2009 die Gemeinde der im Krieg ausgebombten Gnadenkirche ihr Zuhause, Seite an Seite mit einer Begegnungsstätte für Russlanddeutsche. Noch heute erinnern die grün-weiß glasierte Klinkersteinfassade, die breiten Treppenaufgänge und langen Flure an die bewegte Geschichte des Gebäudes. Die moderne Ausgestaltung der Räumlichkeiten mit Werken zeitgenössischer Künstler schafft den Bezug zu Gegenwart. Hier finden sich Arbeiten von Jim Avignon, Ella Guru, Kai Stuth, Steffen Seeger, Ellen von Unwerth und El Bocho.

Kaffeestube alt berlin

Die Kaffeestube Alt Berlin wurde am 27. Mai 2018 eröffnet. Die Café-Tradition hat im Ballhaus Berlin aber schon eine viel längere Geschichte. Sie reicht zurück bis in die Gründerzeit, als um 1900 im Vorderhaus des Ensembles Chausseestraße 102, dem damaligen „Chausseepalast“, rechts neben dem Torbogen das „Café und Conditorei Eugen Mraschny“ eröffnete. Im Untergeschoss des Hotels Albeck und mit einem Konzert- und Speisehaus an seiner Seite liefen die Geschäfte bis zum Krieg wohl exzellent. Schließlich bildete ein Besuch im Kaffeehaus auch an der Chausseestraße seit den Zwanziger Jahren den klassischen „Auftakt zum Abendvergnügen“. Erst als das Vorderhaus einem Bombenangriff zum Opfer fiel, zog Betreiber Eugen Mraschny in die Chausseestraße 32 um, wo verschiedene Pächter sein Haus später weiterführten.

Von der alten „Conditorei Mraschny“ im Vorderhaus des Ballhaus-Ensembles sind allerdings noch eindrucksvolle Fotografien erhalten, Ähnlichkeiten mit der Kaffeestube Alt Berlin sind rein zufällig…

Ballhaus Biergarten

Ein kleiner Biergarten war hier schon immer, er gehörte zum „Konzert-und Speisehaus“, dass einst im Vorderhaus der Chausseestraße 102 seinen Sitz hatte. Doch so ruhig und idyllisch wie Hof und Biergarten des Ballhauses heute an einem lauwarmen Sommertag erscheinen, war es hier nicht immer. Im Gegenteil. In den Zwanziger Jahren schoben sich dort, wo heute Tische, Terrassenmöbel und die Fragmente der Berliner Mauer stehen, von früh bis spät die Lieferwagen der Fabrik „Schmidt & Fuchs” durch den Hof, beladen mit hydraulischen Stühlen, Zahnarztlampen und OP-Tischen, vorbei an hämmernden und schraubenden Angestellten. Von der Straße her ertönte noch bis 1918 das Klingeln und Stiefelklappern der vorbeimarschierenden Soldaten der benachbarten Maikäferkaserne. Und wenn sich der Abend verneigte, nahmen die ersten Nachtschwärmer bereits Kurs auf Schwankes Festsäle im Hinterhaus, um sie nicht selten lärmend und lachend im Morgengrauen wieder zu verlassen. Zum großen Lärm kam das berüchtigte Zwielicht der Berliner Hinterhöfe. Schließlich trennte das viergeschossige Vorderhaus den heutigen Hof vom Leben und Schein der offenen Straße. 

Die hier untergebrachten Etablissements und die Wohnung des Fabrikeigentümers Fuchs wurden durch alliierte Bomber in den letzten Tagen des Zweiten Weltkriegs dem Erdboden gleichgemacht. Und so blieb es: Der Biergarten des Ballhauses bildet noch heute die letzte verbliebene Baulücke in der Chausseestraße.